Bankruptcy and other Consumer Protection Laws were created to protect you

Southern District of MS

Southern District of Mississippi - United States Bankruptcy Court

This is a map of the Mississippi counties that are included in the Southern District of Mississippi’s United States Bankruptcy Court and how they are divided for Chapter 7 Bankruptcy cases and also for Chapter 13 Bankruptcy cases. (Unless otherwise specified, the division is the same for both types of bankruptcy cases) The color coding shows you which counties are covered by which Judge.

Honorable Jamie Wilson, JudgeGreen
Honorable Katharine M. Samson, JudgeOrange

All of the green counties would appear in court at the Jackson, MS United States Bankruptcy Courthouse (Madison, Hinds, Rankin, Holmes, Yazoo, Sharkey, Issaquena, Warren, Copiah, Scott, Leake, Newton, Kemper, Neshoba, and Noxubee counties).

All of the counties in orange are split between the Hattiesburg, MS courthouse, the Gulfport, MS courthouse, and the Natchez, MS courthouse (Jasper, Clarke, Lincoln, Lawrence, Jefferson Davis, Covington, Jones, Wayne, Pike, Walthall, Marion, Lamar, Forrest, Perry, Greene, Pearl River, Stone, George, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Claiborne, Jefferson, Adams, Franklin, Wilkinson, Amite, Simpson, Smith, Lauderdale).

The addresses to the United States Bankruptcy Courthouses are as follows:

501 East Court Street, Jackson, MS 39201(601) 608-4600
2012 15th Street, Gulfport, MS 39501(228) 563-1790
701 Main Street, Hattiesburg, MS 39401(601)-255-6400
109 South Pearl Street, Natchez, MS 39120(601) 897-6945

To view the calendar of Court Hearings / Meeting of Creditors, click here.

The Southern District of Mississippi Bankruptcy Courts are a part of the US Trustee Program - Region 5, and Ronald H. McAlpin, Assistant United States Trustee, is located at the Jackson MS United States Bankruptcy Courthouse.

The Chapter 13 Trustees covering the Southern District of Mississippi bankruptcy cases are as follows:

Harold J Barkley, JrJackson, MS(601) 362-6161
James L Henley, JrJackson, MS(601) 981-9100
David RawlingsHattiesburg, MS(601) 582-5011
Warren A Cuntz, JrGulfport, MS(228) 831-9531

The chapter 7 Trustees covering the Southern District of Mississippi bankruptcy cases are as follows:

Derek A. HendersonJackson, MS(601) 948-3167
Eileen N. ShafferJackson, MS(601) 969-3006
J. Stephen SmithJackson, MS(601) 352-6767
Kimberly R. LentzGulfport, MS(228) 867-6050

When you file a Chapter 7 or a Chapter 13 bankruptcy case, the court’s Electronic Filing System assigns a court location, a Judge, and a Trustee to your case. Regardless of which type of case you file, the US Trustee remains the same. Then a date for your Meeting of Creditors is scheduled by the same system and it is set for approximately 30 days after the day your case is filed.

If you do not see your county listed above, take a look at the Northern District of MS United States Bankruptcy Court.

Client Reviews
My attorney was very knowledgeable and kept me updated along the process. I would recommend them highly. Teresa Mitchell
We have nothing but praise for the Coxwell Attorneys! They were a comfort in a time of stress. They explained our options and once we decided our path, they guided us through each step (explaining and re-assuring us along the way). We highly recommend Coxwell Attorneys! Thad & Janet Brumfield
Things are looking better for us already this year. You provided us with great service and you sure know what you’re doing. Mr. & Mrs. J.B.
Thank you again for everything you did, including the fact that you took the time to check up on me after all was done. I really appreciate that. D.W.
We received our discharge and decree on yesterday. Thank you, and thanks to Joanie, for your very professional, personable, and courteous service. M & M H.